Lars Vogt

Pianist Lars Vogt has established himself as one of the leading musicians of his generation. Born in Düren in 1970, he first attracted widespread public attention when he won second prize at the 1990 Leeds International Piano Competition. Over the past years, Lars has been appearing regularly in concert agendas across the US, Asia, and Europe. Sir Simon Rattle, with whom he often collaborates, has described him as “one of the most extraordinary musicians of any age group with whom I have had the fortune to be associated with”.

Lars Vogt masters an extended range of solo and concerto repertoire. His special relationship with the Berliner Philharmoniker has continued with regular collaborations following his appointment as their first ever “Pianist in Residence”. He has made guest appearances with the New York Philharmonic, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, NHK Symphony, London Symphony Orchestra, the Vienna Philharmonic, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Orchestre de Paris, the Munich Philharmonic, Santa Cecilia Orchestra, and the Dresden Staatskapelle. Lars is regularly invited to appear at the BBC Proms, at Lucerne Festival, and at Salzburg Festival; he has given countless solo piano recitals.

Lars is particularly passionate about chamber music, which he cultivates by performing with his friends on the podiums of the world. That passion is what inspired him to found SPANNUNGEN Chamber Music Festival in Heimbach in 1998. No longer just a tip for connoisseurs, SPANNUNGEN has become one of the most renowned chamber music festivals in Europe.

In 2012, Lars Vogt was appointed to succeed his late teacher, Karl-Heinz Kämmerling, in the chair of piano professor at the University of Music, Drama and Media in Hannover.

Lars Vogt

Der Pianist Lars Vogt hat sich als einer der führenden Pianisten seiner Generation etabliert. 1970 geboren, zog er erstmals große Aufmerksamkeit auf sich, als er 1990 den zweiten Preis beim internationalen Klavierwettbewerb in Leeds gewann. Seit einigen Jahren ist Lars Vogt eine feste Größe in den Konzertkalendern sowohl in den USA, in Fernost und in Europa. Sir Simon Rattle, mit dem ihn eine besonders intensive Zusammenarbeit verbindet, beschrieb ihn als „einen der außerordentlichsten Musiker, mit denen ich das Glück hatte, zusammenzuarbeiten".

Lars Vogt erarbeitete sich eine sehr breite Palette sowohl im Solo- wie auch im Konzertrepertoire. Ihm wurde als erstem Pianisten überhaupt die Ehre zuteil, zum „Pianist in Residence“ bei den Berliner Philharmonikern ernannt zu werden. Des Weiteren gastierte er u.a. bei den New Yorker Philharmonikern, dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra, dem NHK Symphony, dem London Symphony Orchestra, den Wiener Philharmonikern, dem Concertgebouw Orchester, beim Orchestre de Paris, den Münchner Philharmonikern, dem Orchester Santa Cecilia in Rom und der Staatskapelle Dresden. Er ist regelmässiger Gast bei den Proms in London, dem Lucerne Festival sowie bei den Salzburger Festspielen. Seine Soloauftritte sind unzählig.

Einen besonderen Schwerpunkt legt Lars Vogt auf die Kammermusik, die er mit seiner Freunden auf  vielen Podien weltweit pflegt. Dies beflügelte ihn auch 1998 zur Gründung des Kammermusikfestivals „Spannungen" in Heimbach/Eifel. Inzwischen ist es nach 15 Jahren kein Geheimtipp mehr, sondern gilt als eines der renommiertesten Kammermusikfestivals Europas.

Seit Herbst 2012 bekleidet Lars Vogt in der Nachfolge seines Lehrers Karl-Heinz Kämmerling eine Klavierprofessur an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien, Hannover.